What is InJAC?

The Indiana Joint Asthma Coalition (InJAC) is a voluntary network of people and organizations who work to reduce the burden of asthma on people living in Indiana.  InJAC includes volunteer members from federal, state, and local governmental agencies, professional organizations, managed care plans, hospitals, schools, environmental groups, and other community-based organizations and individuals concerned with the prevention and control of asthma in Indiana.


How We Operate

InJAC is made up of volunteer members who choose one or two specialty areas, and participate in these working committees. The committee’s goals are to tackle issues that fall within their purview and members experiences. For example, Advocacy works with smoking legislation and outdoor burning laws, while our Children and Youth members work on asthma education in schools and daycare settings. Our Data and Surveillance team works to both collect data and help InJAC with its own surveillance needs. The Environmental Quality team is made up of members who want to address the environmental triggers asthma sufferers face every day. And our Health Care Providers and Public Education committees focus their time on educating their respective audiences on asthma issues.


Work Groups: 

InJAC is made up of volunteer members who choose one or two specialty areas (work groups), where they can most effectively lend their expertise. Each Work Group has the goal of tackling issues that fall within their purview, as well as supporting the efforts of other Work Groups when efforts can be combined for greater impact. Here is a summary of our Work Groups:


The Asthma Educator Reimbursement Work Group The Asthma Team-Based Care Work Group Conference and Events Work Group The Environmental Work Group
The Asthma Educator Reimbursement Work Group is working towards creating a program that provides Medicare/Medicaid reimbursement for asthma educators in Indiana. We are utilizing data from other states, advocating with policy makers that have been successful in this effort and work together to make this a national practice.


The Asthma Team-Based Care Work Group created the statewide AMP. Provided management and oversight to the AMP. This group created surveys that are being sent to all Indiana School Nurses about the state of asthma in their schools and their students’ usage of ANY AMP/AAP. The goal is to measure the results and implementation of the AMP and online training/parent videos. The Conferences & Events Work Group concentrates on planning InJAC conferences and events as well as promoting events relevant to our mission. This includes securing sponsorships and grants to be used for promotion and marketing of InJAC. This group will focus on Environmental Justice with the goal of addressing  outdoor and indoor air quality. This group will partner with county tobacco coalitions state wide to assist with the adoption of smoke-free multi-unit housing complexes.


Need to Contact InJAC Staff?
We’re located on the fourth floor of the English Foundation building, in downtown Indianapolis.

Indiana Joint Asthma Coalition
615 North Alabama Street, Suite 426
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Dr. Girish Vitalpur – President 

Danette Short – Past President

Angie Dickerson – Vice-President

Roni Ford – Coalition Coordinator
(317) 520-9343

Erin Swartz – Administrative Assistant
(317) 456-7551


Who We Are

InJAC is made up of individuals with a vested interest in asthma, personally and professionally. Our members include representatives or interested parties from the following organizations:

American Lung Association of Indiana                    Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield

Asthma Alliance of Indianapolis                             Ball State University

Boone County Health Department                          Butler University

Centene Corp                                                       City of Evansville

Delaware County Health Department                      Environmental Protection Agency – Region 5

EVSC’s School Community Council                       Franciscan St. Francis Health

Franklin Township Community Schools                   Gibson County Health Department

Health and Hospital Corporation (Marion County)     HealthVisions Midwest, Inc.

Healthy Communities of Clinton County Coalition     Healthy Communities of LaPorte County

Hendricks County Health Department                     Hendricks Co. Coalition for Tobacco Intervention & Prevention

Hoosier Uplands                                                   Hospital and Health Corporation of Marion County

Improving Kids’ Environment                                  Indiana AHEC Program

Indiana CAFO Watch                                            Indiana Department of Environmental Management

Indiana Family & Social Services Administration     Indiana Primary Healthcare Association

Indiana Public Health Association                          Indiana School Boards Association

Indiana University – Bloomington                            Indiana University Health – Bloomington

Indiana University Health – Indianapolis                   Indiana University – Northwest

Indiana University – Southeast                               Indiana University School of Medicine

Indiana University South Bend School of Nursing    IUPUI

Ivy Tech Community College                                 Johnson Memorial Hospital

Lawrence Township Schools                                 Learning Well Inc.

Managed Health Services                                     MDWise Hoosier Alliance

Medical Care & Outcomes LLC                             Memorial Hospital and Health System

Merck & Company Inc.                                         Minority Health Coalition of La Porte County

Minority Health Coalition of Marion County             Monroe County United Ministries

Parkview Hospital                                                Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital

Riley Hospital for Children                                    Saint Joseph County Minority Health Coalition

Schneck Medical Center                                      St. Mary’s Health System

St. Vincent Joshua Max Simon Primary Care        St. Vincent’s Clay Hospital

St. Vincent’s Indianapolis                                     Teva Respiratory

University of Southern Indiana                            US Environmental Protection Agency, Region 5

Wishard Hospital


Indiana Joint Asthma Coalition (InJAC)

Adopted June 23, 2005
Revision August 28, 2006
Revision June 16, 2008

Click here to download the InJAC Bylaws

The Indiana Joint Asthma Coalition’s Bylaws are outlined in the following categories:

Article I Organization

Article II Mission of Organization

Article III Members

    • Section 1 General
    • Section 2 Membership Categories
    • Section 3 Organizational Members
    • Section 4 Organizational Partners
    • Section 5 Individual Members
    • Section 6 Membership Fee
    • Section 7 Participation on Committees
    • Section 8 Membership Rights
    • Section 9 Membership Meeting

Article IV Executive Committee

    • Section 2 Designated Representative
    • Section 3 Amending the Bylaws or Articles of Incorporation
    • Section 4 Dissolution Clause (added 6/19/08).


    • Section 1 Executive Committee
    • Section 2 Committees
    • Section 3 Loans to Directors and Conflict of Interest

Article V Officers and Agents

    • Section 1 Selection of Officers
    • Section 2 Duties of Officers
    • Section 3 Compensation of Officers

Article VI Financial Affairs

    • Section 1 Contracts
    • Section 2 Checks
    • Section 3 Investments
    • Section 4 Fiscal Year
    • Section 5 Corporate Indemnification

Article VII Other Issues

    • Section 1 Prohibited Activities
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.